Rio – Following Your Dreams

I love the Olympics.  I love to watch the Olympics.  Since I was a little child, I always was fascinated at the skill, dedication and determination that it takes to become an Olympic athlete.  I, of course, had dreams of playing volleyball in the Olympics, until I realized that I was not at all as talented, dedicated or determined in the sport as these athletes.

One thing that is clear in the Olympics, is the parent support of these athletes.  Commercial after commercial, we see athletes giving thanks and honoring the support of their parents.  It has to make me wonder, if their parents knew the sacrifice through the years would actually pay off, not just in an Olympic medal, but in a public profession of gratitude.

Parents Behind the Scenes

Parents many of us will not have the honor or privilege of watching our children on a world stage like the Olympics or even a national stage.  But we sure enjoy the honor of the local soccer match or the dance recital at the high school and even the Friday night football game that seems to bring back nostalgia as we sit and watch our children compete.

As I watch my children each week, I feel a sense of pride, knowing that they are out their giving activities they love a try with all their heart!  Children who are involved and are active have a sense of self worth and confidence only gained by the sense of accomplishment.  I am grateful for the team lessons they learn that help them to be successful in all areas of their lives.

Lessons We Learn

Many parents carry a sense of pride with them for their children at these events.  Unfortunately this sense of pride can turn into ugly screaming matches between parents, as often showcased on the evening news.  We see displayed on reality shows, parents who push their children using harsh “tough love” tactics, to hopefully create larger than life super athletes.

Not to say that these parents are also not present at the Olympics, I just think they probably do not outweigh the ones who gently and lovingly support and nurture their children’s dreams to success.

What Happens When You Say Yes to Your Child?
51whtVuBApL

I had the honor of talking to parents who decided to say Yes to their child’s dreams.  Mark and Jan Foreman, parents of Jon and Tim Foreman of Switchfoot, authored the book “Never Say No raising big-picture kids”.  These parents focused on not just rules but real meaningful relationship with their children.

Interview with Mark Foreman Here.

index
Another supportive parent, Bonnie J. Wallace, mother of Dove Cameron star of Live and Maddie, shared her journey in helping her daughter realize her acting dream in the book “The Hollywood Parents Guide Your Roadmap to Pursuing Your Child’s Dream”.

Interview with Bonnie J. Wallace, Here.

 

Being Balanced

One thing parents of successful athletes, actors and musicians stated, is that having family balance was just as important as seeing the dreams of their children come to fruition.  Being able to keep their children developmentally appropriate even as their “professional” careers begin to develop was often a challenge.  Having a supportive family and being able to rely on each other helped them to get through the ups and downs of following a dream.

Parents try not to let your fears impact your child’s ability to be great. 

Well if you have stumbled across my blog, know that I am a parent right in the midst of it, just like you.  I hope to share my thoughts, guest experts who will help us all (me too!), and my prayer for each parent is to parent with power and peace.

My favorite verse, serves as a guide for me as I parent my children:
Proverbs 22:6
 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

I encourage you today to have parenting that is effective and prevailing, creates friendship and unity as you provide guidance, love and care for your children.

Until Next Session,

Dr. Stacy

Parenting Tips 2 Go by Dr. Stacy Haynes, Buy HERE.

Anthony Meets Dr. Stacy: A Book About ADHD, Buy HERE.

Powerful Peaceful Parenting: Guiding Children Chaning Lives, Buy HERE.

Leave a Reply

