It’s Time to Potty Train

Every parent gets this wonderful opportunity to teach our children how to use the Potty.  It is funny my children who are now 8 and 9, would prefer that I not use the “Potty” word when I refer to the bathroom.

Children and parents experience potty training in many different ways. Many parents can’t remember the process and for those of us that do – it is probably because we had one that took forever.

Reflecting back on these times, I remember raising my niece for awhile and she was potty training at the time. To avoid any difficulty I had the potty in her bedroom. Yes right next to the stuffed animal bin, sat her potty.

She would roll right out of bed and onto the potty.  She would dress on the potty, read books on the potty, all while I waited for her to actually go potty.  We tease her now as she still enjoys just sitting on the potty.

Patience is the key

There is no specific science to training your child to use the potty. We can make plenty of suggestions of things that have worked in the past, but remember every child potty trains in their own time.  What worked for my two year old daughter did not work for my three year old son (notice the age difference in gender).

I learned that patience helped me survive this process. My goals were not to get them to go today but to go everyday and so we did not rush the process.

I remember hearing parents who did the potty train over the weekend routine.  Taking away all activity and spending their entire weekend in a bathroom with the hopes that by Monday morning their child would be magically potty trained.  For some they swear by this method, but for me I would rather enjoy my child for the weekend and let potty training take its own course.

How to master the potty

There is a great book out there called Oh Crap! Potty Training Everything Modern Parents Need to Know to Do It Once and Do It Right by Jamie Glowacki, the Pied Piper of Poop (her words not mine).

I had the privilege of interviewing Jamie on a show about this very subject; Potty Training & Parenting Tips.

Strategies from the Trenches

Things I have seen parents do and things I have done in the potty training process:

*Eliminate wearing pull ups
*Give treats and praise for each successful trip to the potty
*Read stories about potty training
*Have children go to the bathroom with older siblings
*Let them pick out their own potty
*Help them pick out big girl/boy underwear
*Play music and have fun on the potty
*Help kids develop a potty schedule like most daycares
*Limit night time liquid two hours before bedtime

It May Take Time

When parents ask me how long before their child will be potty trained completely, I always respond “well it depends”.  There is no real set time.  Schools and daycares would like it by a certain age but you still may have a five year old with an occasional accident here and there.

Many children I find will not want to stop what they are doing- watching television or playing a game- and will have an accident on themselves. This is very normal.  We have to help new potty users to go before they start playing.  Be patient parents- there’s that word again.

Well if you have stumbled across my blog, know that I am a parent right in the midst of it, just like you.  I hope to share my thoughts, guest experts who will help us all (me too!), and my prayer for each parent is to parent with power and peace.

My favorite verse, serves as a guide for me as I parent my children:
Proverbs 22:6
 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

I encourage you today to have parenting that is effective and prevailing, creates friendship and unity as you provide guidance, love and care for your children.

Until Next Session,

Dr. Stacy

Parenting Tips 2 Go by Dr. Stacy Haynes, Buy HERE.

Anthony Meets Dr. Stacy: A Book About ADHD, Buy HERE.

Powerful Peaceful Parenting: Guiding Children Chaning Lives, Buy HERE.

Leave a Reply

